How I Used Up a Day’s Worth of Energy in One Hour

Disclaimer: I have contracted the cold that my children have, so I am feeling extra wimpy.  Nonetheless, this is how my morning progressed:

Trying to get ready to take my daughter to preschool.

J: 2 year old boy, tantrum because he doesn’t want to get changed out of his pj’s into clothes.

K: 4 year old girl, eating her breakfast at an extraordinarily slow rate while I tell her to hurry because she need to get ready for school.

J: Tantrum because he doesn’t want his poopy diaper changed.

K: Continuing to eat while I put her clothes on for her.

J: Tantrum because he doesn’t want to brush his teeth.

K: Moving around while I try to brush her hair.

J: Tantrum because I am brushing K’s hair and not paying attention to him.

K: Tantrum because J came up to hit her while I was brushing her hair.

J: Tantrum because I am bringing him back downstairs.

K: Tantrum because she wants to be carried down the stairs rather than walk herself.

J: Tantrum because he doesn’t want to wear socks.

K: Tantrum because she put her coat on backwards.

J: Tantrum because he doesn’t want to wear boots.

K: Curled up in a little ball pouting because she couldn’t get her coat on by herself.

J: Tantrum because he doesn’t want to wear a coat.

K: Floppy and whining while I put her coat on for her (yes, I conceded).

J: Taking off his hat and mittens.

K: Tantrum because she can’t get her boots on by herself (she can but she doesn’t want to)

J: Tantrum because I am putting his hat and mittens back on.

K: Tantrum because she can’t get her backpack on by herself (again, she can but doesn’t want to).

J: Taking off his his hat and mittens.

K: Crying about a booger in her nose.

J: Tantrum because I am putting his hat and mittens back on.

K: Crying because I am scolding her for throwing her tissue on the floor and not in the garbage.

J: Taking off his hat and mittens.

MOM: Walking out the door without J’s hat and mittens or her own.

K: Playing in the snow instead of walking to the car.

J: Playing in the snow instead of walking to the car.

K: Whining because she is having trouble climbing into her car seat with all her winter gear on.

J: Tantrum because he doesn’t want to be buckled into his car seat.

K: Whining because she dropped a tissue on the floor of the car.

J: Tantrum and screaming “I DON”T LIKE IT”.

MOM: Getting in the car, taking deep breath, and driving kids to school, lamenting because we are running late….AGAIN.

Is it too early in the morning for wine?  Or a nap?

Leave a Reply

