Why Kids are in a Hurry to Grow Up…..And Why It’s a Sham

Lately my 4-year old has been talking a lot about growing up.  “Momma, when will I be a grown-up?” is a frequent questions she asks as well as, “How can I grow up faster?”  I recall imagining being a grown up all the time when I was a kid.  I couldn’t wait.  And now here I am, all grown up, and really disenchanted by it.

Why is it that kids always want to grow up so fast and adults always say, “don’t be in such a hurry”?

Just now, my girl, having made herself a little stage, is singing at the top of her lungs to an imaginary audience.  And I just caught the lyrics, “When I am a grown up, I can do whatever I want.”

And, that’s it, isn’t it?  That’s why we want to grow up….so we can do whatever we want.

And there’s the sham.  I am grown up, and now I have kids.  And I hardly EVER get to do what I want.

~Momma Marks

Leave a Reply

